RSS

In the tall grass.

24 Apr

Growing up I never thought about money,  it wasn’t of any concern, there is a certain freedom in that.  There are also consequences, most unintended, but still very real.

 I started to write because I was lost and needed a safe place to grow up. Today my life looks very different.

I have taken on a role that is uneasy, the role of child and aging parent. I don’t write about my family much, not because I want to hide them but because  I think that they are very typical. I know full well that is not the case, but it is nice to have that illusion. We live in a world of Have’s and Have-nots.  It is all relative, there are moments, even days that will pass and I believe that I am just like the have-nots, then I get rudely reminded that this is not my truth. I find that I no longer need to shout to the world that I am different. Yet, sometimes I must.

Some days it’s just tough to stay true to ones’ self.Bumby

 I am in the process of changing what I chose to do for work, not because anyone is making me but because I want to be happy. I have always had the luxury of being able to do what I want.

This journey that I am on is quite exciting, I feel a bit like Alice looking down the rabbit hole and I wonder what adventures await me. The preppy in me is ever drawn by all the shiny baubles and the WASP in me wants to just dig in and set up a club,  have a G&T and do this thing with dignity, after all that is what we WASPs do.  Yes, I want it all and Yes, I can have it all. However, that which I want and that which is good for me oft are at odds. In regards to my aging parent, a commitment has been made, though there are times I desperately want to be free of it.

It is of note that there is great progress on that front.

I am hoping that this work change will allow me to write again or at the very least that which I do write is worthy of you reading. Summer is almost here. and the Loons have begun to arrive is the report from Down East. The domestics are making ready the Antebellum and all relatives are still breathing. It is Derby time again, The Lady L is out of dry-dock, a few relatives will summer in Dark Harbor,  before joining the rest of the clan in Bar Harbor in the late summer. I have high hopes that I will be able to join in next year. Aging parent needs to have both knees replaced, which makes travel difficult.

Well, that about sums it up, except one item.

Which I will share next we meet.

Love, Bumby

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 24, 2013 in All that's Preppy/WASP

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
